Coming Out

02/19/2020

It's been quite a while since I wrote a blog post here, but in that time an important development has happened in my life.

I came out to my family - and essentially everyone else I know.

This wasn't something I took lightly - it's actually something my therapist and I discussed for a while before I did it. Everyone has a different situation, and I was very lucky to be in a situation where I could safely come out to my parents. They haven't accepted me, but I'm in no danger of being kicked out or injured by them. 

So today, I wanted to address the importance of understanding someone's situation.

If you know someone that is still in the closet, you might feel tempted to ask them why they haven't come out. You might try to help them by slyly commenting on the Queer community around those they're not out to yet, or even try to 'out' them without their consent.

It is very important that you don't do this.

As stated above, my situation was thankfully very safe and stable. A lot of people don't have that, and they certainly have reasons not to come out. It could be a safety issue, as many people are violent towards Queer people. It could put their job in danger, as most places in the United States have no laws against firing a person for being Queer. It could put their living situation at risk, as even fewer places have laws against landlords kicking a queer person out of their home.

Understanding someone's situation before trying to help them is very important. Some people might not even want to come out, and that's perfectly valid.

Until the world is a safer place for everyone, great care must be taken when handling anyone's personal information. Be safe, communicate, and support your friends no matter what.

© 2020 Coby James All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started