Sunday: The Most Dysphoric Day of the Week

01/06/2019

Being in a religious family, on Sunday's we attend church for two hours. No one but my younger sister knows that I am trans, and so I'm expected to wear one of the many dresses or skirts that have been purchased for me. I don't plan on coming out to my parents anytime soon, so what do I do to battle that dysphoria?

Well, most of the full-length dresses I have include tops that don't do well with a binder, so that is automatically my last choice. I have a few skirts, with varying lengths, and way too many shirts that I rarely wear. Today, I was already feeling sick because of a new medication I started to use, and for me, Dysphoria just makes me nauseous. I didn't want to annoy my parents by skipping church, so I had to find something that would work with me.

So, I went to my closet and pulled out a skirt. Floor length, with green and black stripes. Then remembered that recently, for a cosplay, I'd gotten myself a maroon button up shirt that went great with my binder - meaning that with both on I looked and felt wonderfully flat - and the color might just coordinate with the green. I dug the shirt out of my drawer and, luckily, it coordinated. 

I may still be wearing a skirt, and I may still feel dysphoric now, but the horrible dysphoria I experience with my chest won't bother me today. I'll still have to deal with misgendering by everyone, that I can't correct. I'll still have to deal with the stereotypes and judgmental conversations, should any mention of the LGBTQ+ community arise, but at least today, I can be flat.


© 2020 Coby James All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started